The Big Bang Theory – The Pilot


Ok I have been watching season 1 of the Big Bang Theory.

I just got finished with the Pilot and I think it was, as far as Pilot episodes go, pretty funny. It shows the cast has some chemistry, they were still trying to sort it out but it works (obviously).

SPOILER ALERT

In this episode we meet the cast. It is an ensemble cast of 5. 3 Scientists, 1 Engineer, 1 Cheescake Factory Waitress…Come on who doesn’t know a group of people like that? Ok I’ll admit I do but perhaps I’m strange 😉

One interesting thing I found during this episode is that I carefully looked at the math on the white boards in the episode. This time I paused to check the math. Its accurate! It is not only accurate but its high level stuff.

During a walk up the stairs one of the characters (Sheldon) trying to make small talk says that if the height of a single step is off by as much as 2mm most people will trip. I admit it I went and measured a flight of stairs. They were all within that tolerance in my house. I have never tripped up or down the stairs here (unless there was something else on the stair such as a kid’s toy).

Interestingly also there was an argument between two scientists. The statement went something like this: At least I didn’t have to invent 27 dimensions to make the math work out in my white board.

Response: I didn’t have to invent those dimensions they were there!

Sadly….While at work (MIT) I have heard arguments that are like this. Dimensionality and text was different but the basic premise is the same. – Someone has hung out with scientists to come up with that one. Admittedly I laughed pretty hard here….

Also, one of the scientists spouted off about the delusions of society when it comes to Astrology. I myself have yelled at people about this stuff being crap. Astronomy is a Science, Astrology is NOT. No matter how much you want it to be. They are not based on the same stuff….I have gone into deep arguments with people about this and I find it interesting that the writers thought to put it in the show and made it funny at the same time. Talented people there!!!

One of the running gags in the show and as I go through them I am going to pay attention to it. One of the characters (Wallowitz) has a different and really odd belt buckle each time..

Wallowitz Belt Buckle sighting: An original nintendo controller!!!

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] posted here: The Big Bang Theory – The Pilot « Dascienceguy's Blog Read more from News and Stuff, Season 1 cast, pilot, season 1, shows-the-cast, theory, […]

    Reply

  2. […] original here: The Big Bang Theory – The Pilot « Dascienceguy's Blog Read more from News and Stuff, Season 1 cast, pilot, season 1, shows-the-cast, theory, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

