Current Administration – President Obama and Safety


As anyone who knows me for any length of time understands I am an army veteran, a scientist and I’d like to think a Patriot.

In the following order of preference I think of safety as a first concern:

1) My family
2) My Country
3) Our allies

I see moves being made by our government that make me concerned for numbers 2 and 3. I can take care of my family and will.

With the previous president I disagreed with him a great deal. On more subjects than I care to mention because I think of myself as a conservative. Financially conservative, morally conservative, and ethically. George Bush was absolutely no republican. Obama isn’t either but there is a difference.

If the US or her allies were threatened I had no doubt how George W Bush would react. He would seek to destroy them with all the fury he could muster.

Obama I’m not sure. I know he wants to negotiate and that’s fine. There is a time and a place for that. I know with some pirates he has declared open season and I have to admit I never thought he would do that. He has sent some folks to Afghanistan…

However, I don’t think that if we were backed into a corner by a major power he would feel comfortable unleashing the fury of the US Army on that enemy. I just don’t think he would do it in the fashion that would be something to keep us safe in the long run.

As a lesson from history on this subject let’s think back to what happened after WWI. We dismantled our army, we sent the soldiers home, we destroyed the warships and warmachines that won the war for us. Had we not done that dealing with Hitler and WWII would not have taken as long to do. It would have been much less costly both in terms of dollars and lives.

I hope I am wrong about our President. Only time will tell.

DaScienceGuy

Alpha Inventions Ranking

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Yoshi on April 12, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Its interesting that despite his actions with the Pirates and Afganistan, you still have doubts that he would act to protect the country.

    Unleashing the “Fury” as Bush did, has not helped to make the US more secure, its done the opposite.

    I have more confidence that Obama would not rush into a situation with preconceived ideas, as Bush did with Iraq. He would likely respond appropriately to whatever threat is out there. That is more important in my view.

    Reply

    • I believe that the results with Pirates are a small thing. They were very small groups of pirates that target people way less well armed than they are. Those were probably 5 minute fire fights and done.

      Afghanistan is a country we could over run in 4 days if we chose to unleash fury so to speak. I’m not concerned with that.

      I disagreed with Bush and with Obama on these wars. Iraq II was a law enforcement function being done by military which is wrong. The same with Afghanistan. We shouldn’t do that but for some reason we do.

      I was thinking the bigger threats looming. Iran, etc….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

