In the name of John Galt, current Government officials


I have been reading a lot lately for many reasons.  One because it is an ingrained habit, another because it is a great escape with things bug me.  There are a lot of things that bug me.  I used to just argue, point it out and not do much about it.  I was busy, career, graduate school, etc all got in the way.

Now I am down to Career and family.  But looking at what is going on these days I see America on what I believe to be the wrong track.  Someone must stand up and do something so I for one am working political campaigns in which I believe.  Then I have the real right to complain because I at least tried to make a difference.

I think at some level I do this in the name of John Galt.  If you know who that is you’ll understand.  If you don’t know who that is; he is a fictional character from a book called Atlas Shrugged. 

It is a very long book but worth reading.  The basic premise is what if all of the people who knew how to produce things, (e.g. cars, airplanes, electricity, food) all went on strike.  What if they only produced what they needed and no more.  They made no profit, therefore paid no taxes.  The lack of making money and paying taxes made government have no resources.  Those who were on the government dole (e.g. low income housing, welfare, unemployment, etc) had no resources with which to work.  In the book those who continued to produce were taxes higher and higher until nothing was left to tax.  Then the whole system crumbles. 

Personally I think that bit of fiction was interesting but rather than quitting and going home….I for one choose to try to affect change.  Real change, for what I believe to be the better.

I think the President is trying to do the very same thing.  I for one give him points for trying to do what HE believes is the right thing.  I disagree so rather than arguing…I am doing.

If you are interested in John Galt, my father found some online videos about the character.  A sort of adaptation.

Check it out at: http://www.youtube.com/user/GaltSpeaking

Alpha Inventions Ranking

One response to this post.

  1. I have seen most of the videos you mentioned … I hope more people get interested !!
    Ed

    Reply

Leave a Reply

