Fiction Platforms


I have been reading more lately than I have in years.  Perhaps its escapism from a job where I get bored a lot.

I have been noticing that much fiction lately has been a very specific length and very formulaic in nature.  I have a half a dozen Baldacci books standing on the shelf and its amazing how close in length (and mostly storyline) they are.

There are some exceptions to this rule but they are becoming more rare.  Perhaps it is because the market has been changing over the years.  I think that e-books are going to change a lot of this.  It will allow a greater number of options.  Interestingly I have been seeing e-book readers showing up in lots of places lately.  I hope that it will extend out non-formula driven books.  Perhaps something unique and different will start, once again, to appear in the market.

Leave a Reply

