Mistakes in Health Care Fearmongering


I comment made by someone brought up a very good point.

I have heard on multiple news sources that there is a New England Journal of Medicine report about how a large percentage of doctors would leave medicine if this passed.

I did a search through NEJM.  I couldn’t find the study.  When you are a scientist for a living you should check references.  I am embarrassed to say I didn’t do it until just now.  There appears to be no official study.  Could this go under urban legend?

If this study is real and I missed it someone, anyone send me the link.  If not I, like the comment that was left, want to see a retraction (although its likely we won’t).

Reasons like this are why I for one have been steadfast in my hope for a real and honest debate on this subject.  Get the truth out.  Do one step at a time and FIX THE PROBLEM.  Let’s not knee jerk and either pass up something worthwhile or do the wrong thing.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Yoshi on March 18, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    It would be nice if that would happen, but unfortunately for the past year, it seems that whenever a debate was attempted, all that resulted was more nonsense.

    FYI, here is the link.

    http://www.nejmjobs.org/rpt/health-reform-may-reduce-physician-workforce.aspx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

