Letters from Iwo Jima, Clint Eastwood


My wife recently bought me this movie.  I had never seen it.

The more I watch things Clint Eastwood was involved with the production of the more I have to say I am a huge fan of his work.  I saw Flags of our Fathers not that long ago for the first time.  Showing this story twice from both sides, and doing it well is something that makes me think about war in general.

The wars are fought by people who are far from those who make the decision to start the fight.  They are just people.  The guys on one side have no beef with the soldiers on the other side.

This of course was in wars between countries, modern war with terrorists is another situation.

These movies were both so well done I think they should be watched as a pair.  One without the other is a great movie.  The two together makes for some serious thought provoking cinema.  Something you don’t get much these days with all the cookie cutter movies that hit the scene.

Leave a Reply

