Health Care Bill and Federal Funding on Abortion; My thoughts


Ok, I have read everything I can find and fit in my schedule on the Health Care bill.  The house is about to take this up.  That’s fine.

Here is my problem.  I don’t believe in abortion, I just don’t.  Ok maybe in the case of severe health concerns to the mother, rape, etc.  However just for the sake of abortion?  There are too many people willing to adopt for this in my opinion to be a viable option.

Now that being said, even though I am a life long catholic (thanks Dad; meant with zero sarcasm in case it comes across as sarcastic).  I don’t believe in abortion on those grounds mostly (except outlined above).  I do NOT however think it is governments place to legislate the matter.

I think it should be legal and VERY rare.  If I knew someone headed down that path I would argue until I couldn’t stand up anymore.  Just ask around.  It has happened; on more than one occasion.

Now here is where I really draw the line.  The Senate Health Care bill allows for federal funding of abortions as part of the package.  This to me is a non starter.  I am done even thinking about the senate bill as viable.  If my money is going to be thrown at this I have a real problem.  I know someone is going to say that Planned Parenthood already gets some tax dollars.  You should see the letters I have written about that one.

This makes it harder to get rid of.  I am going on a new letter writing campaign to stop at least this portion of the bill.

I know the President doesn’t care.  Somewhere along the line in the campaign he said he wouldn’t want his daughters to have to live with a mistake.  A mistake?  Like his grandchild?  Says something about the morals of the man in my opinion.  What that something is I’ll leave for the reader to decide.

I think we need some health care reform in this country.  We have an aging population and costs will spiral quickly as that continues.  However, this one to me is just more than I can stand.  I for one will do more than blog about it.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Yoshi on March 11, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    I certainly have respect for your view on abortion, however, I do have a real issue with no federal funding argument.

    1) The whole I don’t want my tax dollars funding abortions is just a silly argument on so many grounds.

    First of all, nobody gets to decide exactly how their tax dollars are spent. I don’t recall ever getting an itemized receipt showing how every dollar the city/state/federal government spent my taxes. Nor have I ever seen anything that lets me tell the government how to spend my tax dollars, short of the $3 to campaign funding and voluntary contributions.

    In addition, if this is such a valid argument, how come those who usually state this, seemed to ignore others in the past when they may have said, I don’t want my tax dollars funding the war in Iraq, or paying for glue in sections for science textbooks that are about creationism, etc.? Why was that not a valid reason to not do those things?

    Finally, what about all the people who don’t mind if their tax dollars fund this? How come they don’t get a say. While I don’t advocate people running around and getting abortions on a whim, I think its really the decision of the woman, since its her body. I have no problem if my tax dollars help support her when she has made a decision. I’m sure there are just as many people who are for this as against. How come I can’t stand up and say, lets have this funding, because I am okay with my tax dollars funding it? Why is it that those who are against it get their way?

    2) Although you did not mention is here, isn’t this “government interference”? Is this not the government getting in between a patient and their doctor by saying what they will and will not pay for? The problem is that if this is not covered, many who would elect to have an abortion will not be able to afford it. If you outlaw federal funding, then you prevent it being covered in all cases, even the ones that you mention above. What happens to the woman whose life is potentially endangered if they have insurance that will not cover this? The government has stepped between the patient and the doctor.

    It’s almost borderline entertaining seeing so many politicians and their supported who are against healthcare reform because its a “government takeover”. They claim about rationing and talking about how the government will limit what you can your doctor can do. Then they turn around and try and force this into the bill, which limits what a doctor can do, and rations this to those who can not afford to pay for it out of pocket.

    3) The final issue is how this proposed language may play out. This could limit the choices of those who are looking to purchase insurance through the “exchange” as plans that offer this will not allowed to be listed. Even though the purchaser is paying a part of the cost of their insurance, if it is subsidized in any way, their choice of plan would be limited to those that do not cover this.

    Nobody I can think of is pro abortion, they are simply pro choice. While I doubt there will ever be a consensus on this issue, there is some common ground. I do recall Obama saying something to the effect that “while we don’t all agree on abortion, we all agree that we can work to prevent unwanted pregnancies from happening.” That, in the end, may be the best solution.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

