Nancy Pelosi and the quote of all time; She really doesn’t get it


Ok I posted a blog a while back about how Nancy Pelosi just doesn’t get it.  I had some push back from people and they had some valid arguments.  The arguments were great.  I love the push back.  It really does light up my day.  But I have to say that I am standing by my statement.  The woman has no clue.

She gave the following quote I found on her website dated 3/9/2010

“But we have to pass the bill so that you can find out what is in it, away from the fog of the controversy.”

I didn’t truncate that.  I cut and paste.

Shouldn’t the job of an elected official be to find out about what’s in a bill BEFORE you vote for or against it?  This bill could be great! It could be terrible!  She obviously agrees that some members don’t know what’s in there.

I suggest something else may be going on here.  She may know what’s in it and also know that if it were read in detail and fully understood it would fail by a colossal margin.  I may be wrong but according to her we have to make it law so I can find that out.

How ridiculous.  I now plan on donating a bit more to her opponents campaign funds.  Whoever that person is.  It can’t get worse.  Imagine that I would honestly rather have my labrador retriever in that role than this woman after that statement.  Would John Adams ever say that?  The founding fathers must be loading their muskets in the afterlife thinking about coming back for a second round of freedom from tyranny.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Yoshi on March 11, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Take another moment and reread that quote.

    You means the american public. So many people have no idea what the actual bill is due to all the rampant lying and half truths that are being thrown around from both sides.

    I think what she is getting at is that if this passes (which I still am not sure about myself) that people will see there are no “Death Panels” or any of the many silly things so many are saying Sarah Palin.

    I don’t think this means we should pass it so the senate/congress will know what it is.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Yoshi on March 11, 2010 at 3:14 pm

    Damn it! This does not allow funny fake mark ups.

    That was supposed to say (cough) sarah palin (/cough)

    🙂

    Reply

    • Difference is Sarah Palin currently can’t vote for anything in the Congress and is a Fox News contributor. So I’m not sure I understand the comparison.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Yoshi on March 11, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    Its not about the senate or congress understanding the bill, its the american public.

    They are the ones caught up in the fog of controversy.

    I believe what Pelosi is saying is that if the Bill gets passed, people will understand what it really is and what it really isn’t.

    The Palin point is she is one of the biggest offenders with all her comments about “Death Panels”. She says that and many people believe her.

    Thus, if the Bill is passed, and people see there are no Death Panels, then the fog is lifted.

    Reply

    • I think the trouble I have is more than death panels. I doubt there is a death panel in there, at least it isn’t intended as such even if something can be interpreted as such.

      The big trouble I have is that this is a monster. Why sweeping legislation? Nothing that changes this drastically this quickly is ever done properly and you typically end up with a bigger problem than you started with.

      There is a reason ships like the titanic turn slow.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

