Elections in the US versus around the world and explosions in Iraq


Every once in a while I am reminded of how lucky we are to live in this country versus certain others around the world.  I thank the supreme being I belive in for that (you thank whichever or whoever you want 😉 or thanks to living here if you like you are free to thank no one).

The reason for that is we can yell about politics I can disagree with the President, I can disagree with my congressman.  I have even written letters and in several cases told them face to face what it was I hought about their opinion and where I thought they were wrong.  I want to be clear it was congressmen I have told that to not a President.  Interestingly after some of those meetings I understood why someone I know calls them congress critters.

I found this clip on FoxNews.com

“Barrage of mortars and explosions kill at least 25 in Baghdad as Iraqis defy violence to vote in an election testing the mettle of the country’s still-fragile democracy”

I saw the very same news story on cnn.com and msnbc.com but take your pick he same details.  I think some of them have it at 24, or 27 rather than 25 but that isn’t the point of my daily rant.

This rant is because, think about this.  These guys were just trying to select a leader.  That’s it.  They wanted to vote so they died.  I’ll bet no one asked them who they were voting for.  Just that they wanted to choose.  Here we have our issues sure and in the last election some people made claims of attempted voter intimidation (I think that complaint happens in most general elections).  But no one got shot, blown up, etc.  We need to make the process as peaceful as we can here and the Iraqis must do the same.

The thing I find interesting is also that Iraq got to have an election in the first place.  10 years ago they would have done so with one name on the ballot.  Now there are real choices.  That can’t be a bad thing.  I just hope they get their house further in order (we’ll help there) but once we finally leave I hope they keep it that way.

Enjoy your safe voting choices, and yes I voted for Scott Brown republican from Mass.  Although if you live here and you heard what Martha the democratic candidate had said about the Red Sox, Bruins and Catholics you would have a hard time voting for her also 😉

DaScienceGuy PhD

Leave a Reply

