Atlas Shrugged, Ayn Rand and Who is John Galt?


So I finally finished this book.  I am not sure what can be said about it that hasn’t been said before.

I could describe the story line but everyone else has.  So here is my take or thoughts on it.  The book goes to a few extremes.  I don’t think every thinking person would leave many are too passionate to do that.  However if they did the world would crumble.  I do know a bunch of people too timid to make a decision now so that was kind of interesting to me.

I do however think one thing about this book that I think is probably new.  It should be REQUIRED reading for any person wanting to hold the office of Mayor or higher in Government Service.  If not this book at least a look at the underlying philosophy of it or something near it.  I am not saying that one should get preachy that is where everyone screws up.  It just shows what can happen at the various extreme positions and perhaps get people to not be that deep into any of those extremes.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Katie Stevens on March 7, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    I agree. I never understood what was happening in my own worklife and relationship to the Corporate world during the Reaganomics Peak. I only recently learned about Rand and am now reading up about her. There is no doubt that Objectivism has reached deeply into every part of the American psyche. I find myself reflecting some of these values even though they are at odds with the Catholicism I was brought up in.

    From what I’ve read about Rand so far, I do not think she would approve of the way some Christian Conservatives, especially those in the Salem Communications Network, take a cut and past approach to Objectivism. Salem and their talk shows weave a strange mix of patriotism, Christianity and Objectivism. I don’t think Rand wanted a cut and paste approach to the house she built.

    I agree. This book should be required reading. It will help many better understand where we are at now. I do not understand why the media doesn’t approach the topic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

