Don’t Ask Don’t Tell, my point of view


I heard the President bring up Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell along with everyone else.  I have been now listening to the talking heads throw it around like a basketball.

Here is my take…And I’ll leave it at this.

Fine, remove the rule but here is how I would do it if I were in charge.

In the non-combat units fully integrated, no problem go for it.

Combat units, make units that are full heterosexual or full homosexual.  These guys have to live together, shower together, they have no privacy.  There can be NO questions.  There can be emotion in these units fine but this is different.  This goes beyond friends, potentially.  You cover your buddy, but do you leave your buddy uncovered to cover someone who is closer to you?  That could be devastating to those units.

Before you say this is homophobic I hold the exact same opinion about women in combat.  Let them in but full up 100% female units.

If you feel I am wrong please leave a comment but tell me WHY I am wrong not just call me names…Be constructive and perhaps I can change my opinion but for the moment this is it.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Yoshi on March 1, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    I think they did something like this in the past.

    People were divided by race/gender/religion is all sort of ways. Classrooms, voting rights, etc. Even the military.

    Years ago, there were no mixed race units in the Army, but racial integration has not caused the collapse of the Army. I’m sure the same arguments you listed above were just as relevant to the soldiers of year past, but they adapted and today, its not an issue.

    Will it be hard on some soldiers, of course. But its always hardest on the trailblazers. They need to lead the way.

    Reply

    • Not sure I’m sold.

      Combat soldiers have pressures that come from all directions. While in 2 wars and probably going to be 3 (Iran) this may be the right thing to do. This is probably the wrong time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

